Degree Show Build – Day 8 (Final Day)

Today was about finishing touches, where I figured out what was the matter with the sound with Neil in the morning, sorted out the rest of the cables, re-hung a piece that was slightly too low, white tape anything branded/wires poking out, and a general tidy up. However, Neil and I found that the projectors were unfortunately still getting hot, and didn’t want to risk anything going wrong for my show. Therefore, we decided to get a jig-saw and cut out a large rectangular shape for the fan, and that should solve the heat problem. We tested this to make absolute sure it wasn’t a hazard, and it worked! I just sanded them down and painted again, and they were good to go. While I had the paint out, I decided to paint the mirror plates white too so that they looked flat and floating against the wall.

This is how it looks finished and playing;

I’m so pleased with how it has turned out, and although many problems arose, I’m still happy I went for it. I think it will really benefit my work having them projected this way, and will hopefully come through as successful pieces in my presentation.

Author: saratrouble

An Art student from North Wales, studying at CSAD. My art work is mostly political, looking into feminism and sex positive work.

Leave a comment