Organ-logic // food-logic?

When I was researching into Louise Bourgeois a few months ago, I found this drawing she made that sparked my entire series of short films where I morbidly transform myself into the fruits and vegetables women’s bodies are often compared as.

download
Topiary, 2005 Machamux. Drypoint on paper 15 1/2 × 8 in; 39.4 × 20.3 cm

The drawing appears to be a half pineapple, half woman. The “forms” of much of Bourgeois’ work have this formless quality in two ways: in some cases, what we see appears to be something which doesn’t exist, such as the house-woman. In some cases, the biomorphic resemblances are made to male and female organs united in a single form (this has been described as “organ-logic”), or to a mixture of interior and exterior spaces united in a way that makes the interior seem to be outside and the exterior seem to be inside.

Organ-logic is a term used by the art historian Rosalind Krauss), which refers to the representation of an organ which stands for the person who is significant in some way to another person; this other person is also represented by a body organ and the two organs are united to make something which signifies both people. I’ve been thinking about the significance of this term a lot recently, and how my work perhaps joins foods, and creates food-logic forms/bodies, and perhaps could be a way I can label my practice. My body and form, which represents all women’s bodies in my short films and performances, join morbidly and grossly with foods, such as marzipan and fruits, to create a “new” me that has tried (and grotesquely failed) to attain the emoji “beauty” standard.

Author: saratrouble

An Art student from North Wales, studying at CSAD. My art work is mostly political, looking into feminism and sex positive work.

Leave a comment