What I Eat In A Day: YOU ARE WHAT YOU EAT

My latest film;

My latest film is about eating what you want to look like, as I, the subject, consume myself, as a female who’s consumed by the male gaze. This was done by a performance of myself eating marzipan, and slowly adding more and more marzipan to my face, creating a patch-work of skin-like texture on my face. I keep looking at the camera in an admiring way, again to address how I’m happy with this grotesque outcome, posing as if I’m posing for a photoshoot. I add to the grotesque nature of it by adding the same red paint as I’ve been using throughout these performances, creating a bloodied-skin effect. The aim was to eat up the marzipan, as I’d previously used it to create new breasts and bum.

This reminds me heavily of the masks some murderers are known for creating out of skin in films, such as Texas Chainsaw Massacre, inspired by the hideous crimes of Ed Gein. Gein admitted to murdering two women, one who he had shot with a rifle and decapitated, and the Sheriff’s deputy discovered her decapitated body in a shed on Gein’s property, hung upside down by her legs with a crossbar at her ankles and ropes at her wrists. The torso was “dressed out like a deer”.

They found these in his property;

  • Whole human bones and fragments
  • A wastebasket made of human skin
  • Human skin covering several chair seats
  • Skulls on his bedposts
  • Female skulls, some with the tops sawn off
  • Bowls made from human skulls 
  • A corset made from a female torso skinned from shoulders to waist
  • Leggings made from human leg skin
  • Masks made from the skin of female heads
  • Mary Hogan’s face mask in a paper bag
  • Mary Hogan’s skull in a box
  • Bernice Worden’s entire head in a burlap sack
  • Bernice Worden’s heart “in a plastic bag in front of Gein’s potbellied stove”
  • Nine vulvae in a shoe box
  • A young girl’s dress and “the vulvas of two females judged to have been about fifteen years old”
  • A belt made from female human nipples
  • Four noses
  • A pair of lips on a window shade drawstring
  • A lampshade made from the skin of a human face
  • Fingernails from female fingers

Author: saratrouble

An Art student from North Wales, studying at CSAD. My art work is mostly political, looking into feminism and sex positive work.

Leave a comment