Personal statement

After looking into sex work last year, I decided to take another route by taking a more playful idea of how we, millennials and other younger generations, have sexualised emojis, especially food emojis. Looking into this, I found that we have always sexualised food, whether it is in art, film or novels, and this is a progression from that.

I first of all looked at using sex work to prove the sexualisation of foods that represented phallic objects, such as bananas and aubergines. However, I did not want to take such a serious route of using prostitution or anything that could potentially bring any harm or be insensitive, and thought that making a profile as a camera girl would work much better. I ate a banana live and documented the comments I received, which did conclude that it was turned into a sexual innuendo, which I knew would happen in the environment I chose to do it on. Would I have had a different reaction going live on YouTube? In my opinion, not hugely, and the comments would not have been as crude and obviously sexual as I wanted them to be for the purpose of my work. This also fed into the Mukbang fetish I have been researching into, which is usually a young and very slim girls eating a to large amount of food on camera, which potentially could advertise binge-eating and unhealthy food relationships, which could be an interesting thing to carefully develop.

I have also been looking at fruit machines and how I could potentially use that for my work, as I used cherries as “comments” in a recent painting and it was received reasonably well by my peers, as well as translate my ideas well. Because of this, I am hoping to carry this through for the next few weeks, as it would certainly be in keeping with being playful and flirtatious.

I could even look into buying an old fruit machine and change it to emojis, and see what I can come up with, but this could prove to be difficult if it is a big machine.

Author: saratrouble

An Art student from North Wales, studying at CSAD. My art work is mostly political, looking into feminism and sex positive work.

Leave a comment