Fruit machine – developing the emoji idea for food as a fetish

While researching into fruit machines, I was really interested in using the “Chav It” machine because it included catch-phrases and interesting designs, as well as humour that I could potentially use for this painting.

chav-it

My first day at painting this piece has gone well, where the base of the painting and some of the more detailed bits have already started forming. I decided to copy a fruit machine and change it by adding a painted bit of me eating a banana from my camera girl experience and using emojis as the fruit, with comments I documented from the live stream on the side, correlating with the original image I found online of a fruit machine.


I hope to finish this in a few days so I can get cracking on a few more of these, each documenting the comments I received.

I’ve been busy painting this for the past couple of weeks in between everything else, using masking tape very precisely for sharp lines and thinking a lot about what colours to use for the background and “fruit machine” bright colours. I’ve finally finished the background of the painting, which took a while, but I hope this will be the hardest bit and the emojis and self-portrait will be an easier application.

I’ve now put in the outlines ready for painting, which are comments I received on my camera girl live stream, my name on the profile I created, and emojis I received on my tinder profile as “Peaches”.

The end result, which is above, turned out successfully, though I do feel like my painting isn’t amazing, but the context and its desired effect, I think, is apparent. It took me over two weeks to complete, and I do think it’s reflected in the detail and size, which is what I’m most happy about and I’m looking forward to exhibiting it at the end of the month. All I have left to do is to frame it and start my final painting for the fruit machine series!

At the Get Loose exhibition;

dsc_00502031112707.jpg

Author: saratrouble

An Art student from North Wales, studying at CSAD. My art work is mostly political, looking into feminism and sex positive work.

Leave a comment