Booster week 15/10

My first day at booster week consisted of research into artists and drawing from my ideas. I decided to carry on down the route of using emojis as a sexual thing, especially the food emojis, which turned out with a humorous undercurrents, as does most of my work on sexual topics.

The life drawing sessions have really prepped me for doing this type of work, which certainly means they’ve been time well-spent. This is because diving straight into drawing my face didn’t seem too bad, and this is definitely because I’ve been practising it a bit outside of my work for my degree.

I also decided on leaving the face colourless and then adding the bright colours to the emojis, making them almost look like stickers which is what they essentially are, but online. This also, I think, gives the meaning that the reality, which is me in this case, is faded into the background and what seems ‘real’ to us is from the internet, such as sexuality, relationships, and even people. This brings us back to how we are such good sexters, but perhaps not confident to pursue what we say online in a real situation, just as we might have great relationships online with people and not in real life.

Author: saratrouble

An Art student from North Wales, studying at CSAD. My art work is mostly political, looking into feminism and sex positive work.

One thought on “Booster week 15/10”

Leave a comment