Professional Development research

In the past few months I’ve been looking around Cardiff for volunteering opportunities to build up my contacts for when I leave uni and start looking for a job in the Cardiff art scene. I’ve emailed WARP, G39 and Made in Roath, including the festival coming up. However, only Elin Meredydd from WARP replied and added me to the facebook group that advertise the opportunities that are coming up. I will, however, start attending the coffee mornings G39 host.

I’ve also been in touch with Kongs, hoping to exhibit my work, along with a few other students who are interested. I found out the possible cost, which day would be suitable for us, and what time the exhibition would be on for. I’m still planning the exhibition, that will hopefully take place before Christmas, and we’re hoping on following a theme for it and curate it that way.

Update on volunteering;

I recently heard back from Made In Roath to get involved with the festival itself and a dye workshop that I’ll be attending on the 6th of October. I’ve already started on the bunting for the festival, which I will post the progress on in a separate post.

We’ve also been looking around venues to hire to organise an exhibition of our works around November time which will be a collection of around 8/9 students’ artworks based on the theme “the notion of loose”. We found The Cons Club in Cathays where Rat Trap has held exhibitions and events in the past, who were happy to help us when we went for a look around. I took pictures to make it easier to plan our exhibition, which are below;

Author: saratrouble

An Art student from North Wales, studying at CSAD. My art work is mostly political, looking into feminism and sex positive work.

Leave a comment