re.act.feminism

re.act.feminism #2 is an international, multi-annual performance and exhibition project traveling through Europe since 2011 and I decided to look into it after going to an art performance lesson by Davida, with the aim of incorporating some into my own artwork. The core archive contains more than 250 videos, photographs and other documentation of gender-oriented, feminist and queer performance art, from the 1960s to the early 1980s.

The core of the project was a mobile archive and workstation with a growing collection of videos, photographs and other documents of feminist, gendercritical and queer performance art. It was a transnational and crossgenerational project featuring works by artists and artist collectives from the 1960s to the beginning of the 1980s, as well as contemporary positions from Eastern and Western Europe, the Mediterranean and Middle East, the US and in Latin America. On its journey through Europe –starting in Spain and continuing through Poland, Croatia, Denmark, Estonia and ending in Germany- this temporary archive continued to expand through local research and cooperation with art institutions, academies and universities. It was also ‘activated’ through exhibitions, screenings, performances and discussions along the way.

Narcissister, Untitled (cigarette blonde) 2012, c-print, 40 x 30 inches, edition of 2, 1AP, Courtesy of the artist and envoy enterprises. 21 June 2013 – 18 August 2013, Akademie der Künste. Berlin, Germany.

I’m really interested in the type of art exhibited at this event, especially since I can link many to my own work and ideas. I want to take photographs of myself, using my art as props somehow, thus bringing women’s issues up, most probably humorously by using myself as the object.

 

 

Author: saratrouble

An Art student from North Wales, studying at CSAD. My art work is mostly political, looking into feminism and sex positive work.

One thought on “re.act.feminism”

Leave a comment