Relational Colour – 06/02/18

We’ve made huge progress in collaborating our work and ideas, and have even started on the slides and thinking about the compositions. I also had time to make a print of my own, which is below;

I chose the three colours orange, black and green because I wanted to see what would happen if I separated two contrasting colours by adding such a statement, block colour in the middle. I think the effect is really interesting, especially as I made a few of them and the colours began mixing into each other, making the contrasting colours come even closer together. I also like how the contrasting patterns look next to each other, because I’ve given the print some ‘order’ by splitting them up with straight lines that makes the print make more sense by helping it look finished.

We were looking at how to organise the slides, because a lot of our work’s not translucent, therefore we needed to work out how to be able to use them and also see through to the other slides. We figured out that we could use some clingfilm and stick some of our work onto that, and also by cutting out shapes and halving prints, creating almost 3D and ‘floating’ compositions.

 

We still have about half of the slides to make, and we’re also planning on painting the frames blue to blend in entirely with the inside of the box. There has also been some experimentation with cutting out shapes and having them hang onto other prints, or from the plastic lid, creating movement and shadows. We’re also going to experiment with coloured lights and move them around with different compositions to find the ten most complimentary and interesting collaborations of work.

 

Author: saratrouble

An Art student from North Wales, studying at CSAD. My art work is mostly political, looking into feminism and sex positive work.

One thought on “Relational Colour – 06/02/18”

Leave a comment