Dotty Attie

Dotty Attie’s definition of Feminism:

“My definition of feminism is actually very basic – it means no barriers between what a woman chooses to do, and what is acceptable, by societal and familial standards, for her to do. And it also means (to me) no expectations. Women should feel free to have enormous ambitions, or no ambitions, and not be penalized in any way for either.”

Since the 1970s, Dotty Attie’s multi-panel compositions have explored gender identity, politics, and culture through the re-imaging of well-known paintings and photography. She re-presents images from vintage photographs, movie stills, and contemporary photographs on square canvases meticulously painted in her signature palette of black, white, and grey with touches of flesh and rouge. Interspersed with panels of text, Attie’s works suggest an alternate reality to the constructed version we are so accustomed to through television and film.

I’ve been looking into her because I relate to her art very much and I appreciate her skill and style very much. I enjoy painting in detail and I’m inspired by her realism paintings because they behave almost as photographs of what she’s trying to convey. They touch on controversial subjects, such as consent and nudity, which are powerful by themselves. But she goes a step further by using her skill to capture an expression or emotion felt in the painting. I will definitely be thinking of this in my future paintings.

Author: saratrouble

An Art student from North Wales, studying at CSAD. My art work is mostly political, looking into feminism and sex positive work.

One thought on “Dotty Attie”

Leave a comment